Basic Rutorrent guide

tim

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
May 17, 2018
In this tutorial, I will explain you basics of using Rutorrent.

Topics covered will be :

1. What is rutorrent?
2. How to load up the rutorrent interface in evoseedbox?
3. Adding torrents to rutorrent
4. Removing torrents in rutorrent

I have been using seedboxes for past 10 years, I have personally tried various different programs and come to the conclusion that rutorrent is one of the most user-friendly application as a front end to seedboxes. Keep in mind this document will be constantly updated based on user inputs queries and doubts the idea is to make your experience smooth and make your learning curve as small as possible

So let us begin :

1. What is rutorrent?
Rutorrent is a front end or a web interface for a torrent program called rtorrent that runs in Linux.

So you might be thinking why do you need a separate interface for rtorrent?
rtorrent is an extremely resource efficient program so it runs in the terminal interface
How rtorrent looks in terminal.png

not bad eh.. but it's not the most user-friendly interface for most users and remote access makes it furthermore challenging for regular users who are not very familiar with such interfaces

So fast forward years and Novik comes into the picture .. umm you might be thinking who is Novik? well he is the guy who built rutorrent
Here is his Git repo for rutorrent: https://github.com/Novik/ruTorrent

So what rutorrent does is creates a web interface for rtorrent. It collects data from rtorrent and puts it on your web browser along with the option to communicate with your rtorrent which is running mostly on Linux server in much more user-friendly manner.

Your rutorrent looks something like this :

If you have used programs like utorrent , azureus (Vuze ) etc the interface would look quite similar to you the only difference is that it runs from your web browser.